In brief

Two provinces, one diocese

At the time of its establishment, the Diocese of Ottawa brings together Catholics living on both sides of the Ottawa River. For a time, the archdiocese even extends as far as Mont-Laurier in the Laurentians. In 1963, during the Quiet Revolution, the Vatican creates the Diocese of Hull, renamed Gatineau in 2005, to better match church boundaries with civil ones.